top of page

The Year that Gifts didn't come in a Box

This was a year of dreams come true. It was also a year of heartbreak and life changing events. In other words -- life. We celebrate and we grieve. We hold on to each other and recognize the little things that we hadn’t noticed before.

“So many gifts if we stop to think about it in that way. You will be surprised by how many unforgettable moments you have had.”

This year during the holidays we are focusing on all of the little things. Our agreement was to give each other “gifts that don’t come in a box”. That sounds fairly easy, right? Now in the last couple of weeks before Christmas, we are recognizing that we might miss having something in a box. I am hoping we hold strong. My compromise is “stocking stuffers only”.

Changing our focus has brought us closer and has lessened the stress that goes along with the holiday season. Making time for evening dinners together more often this month and sitting together at a table pulled in front of the fireplace has been magic. Sharing an afternoon doing a fun photo shoot with my sister at a beautiful setting in our city had us all laughing and just enjoying being together. We spent one evening listening to our favorite Christmas songs and it turned into karaoke, both of us singing at the top of our lungs. My husband has actually joined me for a Hallmark Christmas movie or two recently. (Don’t tell him I told you.) We still have a “create a piece of art and drink wine night” which is scheduled before Christmas.

I am looking for more ideas and would love to hear any you might have! These beautiful gifts are making my heart so happy. “The year of gifts that don’t come in a box”.

From Cristen Rodgers, “from now on, I’ll always make room for one more because you never know when one more is all you’ll ever have” (full quote below). I would love to hear if you and your family have done something similar. Blessings from my heart to yours, beautiful souls.

“I promise from now on to always make time for at least one more. One more chapter before I turn out the light and float off to sleep. One more kiss before I sink into this sea of words and search for meaning to bring back up with me. One more stretch and one more wiggle of my toes before I jump out of bed; and one more moment in meditation before I re-emerge. One more full, deep breath and one more look at the sunset. One more touch, one more smile, one more moment of stillness, of gratitude, of simplicity, of love. From now on, I’ll always make room for one more because you never know when one more is all you’ll ever have.” ― Cristen Rodgers

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page