top of page

The Yoga Teacher

Fall is happening all around me. Leaves are changing. Temperatures are cooling. October in New Mexico and today I am blessed with blue skies and 68 degrees. Not wanting to miss the weather but needing to do some writing and research, I set up out on our patio with a cup of tea. DJ, our Golden Retriever, settles in just close enough to be touching my foot.

I am refining the sequence for a yoga class I will be teaching. I must confess that I feel giddy as I write these words. Since last you heard from me, I graduated from my year long training and am now a 200 hour certified yoga teacher. Exclamation point. :) Late bloomer that I am, I believe this is my time. I am 62 as I write this, a newly graduated yoga teacher, who has been waiting to share yoga as a teacher for a long time. Its definitely never too late so I hope you aren’t using your age against yourself.

The training experience brought a small group of us together for weekly practice sessions for several months and what I called “group therapy”. We shared stories of our families, our fears, our hopes, and of course total focus on preparation for practicum. Practicum consisted of leading a 15 minute class filled with peers and given feedback by the studio owners. Much stress surrounded this when we began working on it. By the time we got there, we had rehearsed so many times it was like second nature. Hooray. And we became connected in a way we would not have imagined. I am already missing our weekly practice together.

I will be teaching a gentle yoga class in a small studio in my city. The owners are beautiful souls whose goals align with mine. That goal is that everyone should be able to “afford” to go to yoga and payment is donation based. I am excited and honored to share yoga in this new way. This month I open my heart to life as a yoga teacher.

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page