top of page

Writing My Way to Magic


The trees seemed to whisper to me as if I was an old friend the day I arrived. Even the rocks sparkled in happiness to see me. Nature enveloped and welcomed me. I felt like I was watching a movie about nature and my eyes embraced the vision before me. Perfection. Feeling thankful just to be an observer of pure beauty, I acknowledged this was the setting for the writing retreat and where I would be for the next two days.

The days started early, with yoga. We practiced yoga in a yurt set amidst tall pine trees. After yoga, we headed to the log cabin that was the main dining hall for our first meal of the day. The food was exquisitely prepared, organic vegetarian fare. Any request was met with the smile of our amazing chef, Steve. The first morning I asked if almond milk was available. He immediately turned around and whipped up a batch!

After our morning meal, we met by the yurt for a nature walk. Our nature guide taught us the magic of tuning into nature. We stopped in silence at times throughout the walk to focus on things he pointed out. On the second day we went to a labyrinth. This was my first experience with one and I found it quite profound. We learned through our guide to experience nature in a more holistic way. You may have heard the expression commune with nature. I felt that we experienced that communion and it felt quite spiritual.

The remaining mornings and most of the afternoons were spent writing. Our leader, a writing mentor and author, led us through various writing exercises. She has a unique gift of enabling you to write your thoughts in a way I’ve never experienced before. More magic. Our pens flying over the paper and finally the exercise is over. You look down and there you see a piece of yourself on the paper. Wow, did I write that? We shared our writing with each other by reading it aloud. There were tears and laughter and a community was born. We had in our midst a wide variety of healers. From yoga teacher to medicine woman to physician. Beautiful souls each in their own way sharing words and gifts of healing. Artist, author, life coach, therapist, seekers of truth. I felt humbled and honored to be in their midst. We ended the days as we started with a yoga class and then our last meal of the day.

By the second day, we began to feel a rhythm. Had we always lived together here in nature communing and laughing and sharing? It felt as though we had. When the energy in the yurt became heavy or the day was feeling long, we “re-energized”. I highly recommend this. Music was turned on. And yes if you are wondering, we danced. We danced and laughed and ended each time by throwing our hands in the air and cheering. The last evening our medicine woman held a fire ceremony for us. If you ever have an opportunity to experience a fire ceremony, I recommend it. It feels like you are participating in a beautiful and mystical cleansing. Oh yes, magic.

Friends and spiritual partners were born that weekend. New connections that will endure. We shared our souls through our words and learned to connect with nature in a new way that transcended anything we had ever experienced. Building community through sharing food and telling stories about ourselves around the dinner table. Isn’t this part of what enriches our lives? Feeling safe enough to share our souls and build community. It is indeed magic when you find that.

Note: The Soulful Child by Chloe Rachel Gallaway, the author described above, will be released in September. What an amazing story she has. She is such a gifted writer and your life will enriched by her words. I’ll share more about this amazing book soon. The location of the retreat was Lindrith in northern New Mexico.

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page