top of page

Its all about the little things

Remember the luxury hotel in the movie Maid in Manhattan? If you didn’t see the movie, the hotel in Manhattan was a popular spot for rich and famous type clientele. The staff did their homework you might say in order to anticipate their guest’s needs.

Picture walking into the bedroom of your suite and on your nightstand is a vase of fresh flowers and a candle of your favorite scent. Then you see that there is a framed photo of something or someone important to you. Next a book or magazine that relates to your interests.

In the bathroom area of the suite, a large basket on the counter top filled with every amenity you can imagine all specific to you. Imagine of course the basics like toothpaste and toothbrush and bandaids. You look deeper and find body butter, facial misting spray in case you were to become overheated, soothing cream for insect bites, aromatherapy lotion, and more. This was the setting of most of the movie. You can picture it can’t you?

Ah yes, a dream and the place where you want to live in that dream. I recently had the privilege of staying in this dream suite. (Not in Manhattan.) The photo on the nightstand was of my new puppy. The magazine was Spirituality and Health. The candle was lemongrass and is one of my favorites for relaxation. Immediately feeling at home and nurtured, the days of my visit went by too fast.

My resort stay was actually at the home of a dear friend, a woman I call my other sister (also is my sis-in-law). Her love surrounded me for the entire visit by the little things she took care of that she knew I would like and stays with me whenever I think of it. In some ways, you might say oh those are little things. Oh, but it is the little things isn’t it? All of our life is made up of the little moments. Moments when you feel cared for, nurtured, important. What if we took time to gently nurture each other all the time?

“The simple things are also the most extraordinary things and only the wise can see them” (Paolo Coelho)


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page