top of page

I am the most powerful voice in my life

Oh, we all know about them. We might even have some in our life. Joy Stealers I call them. These are the ones who ask you questions like "why do you keep doing something you aren’t good at" or tell you things like " that's the dumbest thing I've ever heard. “ Even when we barely know these people, it still gives us pause and sometimes tackles us to the ground.

Boy, isn’t it hard to remember that you have the power when you hear that stuff? If you’ve always wanted to write your story, then write it for yourself. Remember that you always thought it would be fun to be in a dance class but were told you weren’t graceful? Forget that. Do it anyway. You thought you weren’t cool because of who liked you in high school. Who cares? High school is over. Cool means something totally different now. You can be cool if you choose to.

I wasn’t cool or graceful when I was younger or at least that’s what I thought. It kept me from even trying things. This is how I saw myself through others eyes. Skinny. Braces. Orchestra geek. Damn! Here is the reality looking back. I was naturally thin. My parents paid for braces so that I would have beautiful straight teeth. I loved playing the violin, had taken private lessons for years, and was the Concertmaster in my high school orchestra. Even I didn’t appreciate my strengths because the “cool” kids thought I was the skinny girl with braces who was in…gasp….the orchestra.

Here is the beauty of life. We get to choose. It doesn't matter how "good" you are at it. Do you love it? You write your story because its about why you are as amazing as you are today. Some of the story will not be pretty but its your truth. I have a friend who started ballet classes in her 60’s and loves it. Kayaking is fun even if you are the slowest one on the river (yes, that was me). “I am the most powerful voice in my life”.

Embrace your joy. Embrace your dream. Be you!

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page