top of page

How to start getting out of protective mode

Hello beautiful souls! So excited to share with you another new experience in my “out of your comfort zone/try new things” year. Reading has always been my friend from as far back as I remember. Like most girls, I went through Nancy Drew and Trixie Belden, but then on to reading James Bond and other spy novels with my dad, to a lifelong love of reading. Many times in my life I have dreamed of being part of a book club! Sadly, each time I got started, a book was chosen that was too graphic or violent for me and I would stop reading the book. I will just say, each of us has our own empathic level. That is another topic perhaps.

So with all of that said, recently a yoga studio in my area announced a book club! Yay, finally something I can read in a group. There I was with my book and notebook, having read the required 50 pages . (Yes I am apparently a nerd.) I have to tell you that it was just as cool and interesting as I had always thought it would be! (The book is Conscious Creator by Kris Krohn in case you want to check it out.) I was drawn to the story below and I think you will be too.

“In 1957, a Buddhist monastery in Thailand was being relocated. Along with everything else, a giant clay statue of Buddha had to be moved. While the monks were moving it, one of them noticed a crack in the statue. Concerned about damaging the statue, they decided to wait a day before continuing the move.

During the night, one of the monks checked on the statue, shining his flashlight over the entire Buddha. When his light swept over the crack a glimmer of light reflected back at him. Curious, the monk got a hammer and chisel and chipped away the clay. As he knocked off piece after piece of clay, the Buddha got brighter and brighter. After hours of work, the monk was astonished to realize the entire statue was made of gold.

Historians believe the Buddha had been covered with clay by monks several hundred years earlier, before an attack by the Burmese army. The monks had covered it to protect it. All the monks were killed in the attack, however, so it wasn’t until 1957 that the great treasure was discovered.”

I was so drawn to this story that I actually did some more research about it on the internet. I mean wow. Doesn’t it make you just stop and think about how often in our lives we cover ourselves with “clay” for protection? This lead me off in the wild blue yonder and I had to pull myself back. I just know I will be writing more about this at some point. For now, I think its enough to recognize that we do it. It being adding a layer of protection. That we have been doing it most of our lives.

Ok don’t let me get off in the wild blue yonder again so soon. Here is how I reel myself in and begin to think about uncovering myself. This is my morning mantra.

“Thank you heavenly father and all of my angels! I know you’ve got me. It is safe to be myself.”

Try it out this week and let me know if you feel new strength and security. Say it out loud while you are driving to work in the morning. I think saying things out loud make them more powerful, don’t you? I mean people are talking on the phone these days so I don’t think they’ll look at you funny if you are talking in your car. And anyway, who cares what they think?

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page