top of page

Your Body is a Gift


The love hate relationship with our bodies is so exhausting. I mean for some, from the time of tween, the hate begins. You know what I mean. “I don’t look like everybody else so it’s bad.“ Someone makes a comment and you hold on to it. I was mostly called skinny. Also, the usual comments when you wear braces. Its true that I was about 98 pounds soaking wet and I did wear braces. From my perspective today, I don’t think skinny is that bad. I also remember a comment someone shared with me once that so and so said I had greasy hair. Well its embarrassing to tell you, but not until a couple of years ago did I stop washing my hair EVERY day.

Oh yes, we all have these little secrets. Hair, body, teeth. We seem to be looking for perfection. My sister and I recently were talking about how many hours of our lives we have spent doing our hair. Our hair! Shampoo and condition, blow dry, then curling iron or hot rollers. An hour on our hair alone every day. Yikes. And don’t forget color and highlights and (gasp) perms.

This beautiful gift that gives us breath and heart beat and motion and is capable of bearing children. Have you thought about how you feel about your body? I can already imagine some saying well yes actually every day. Thank you very much. If you don’t feel good about your body, is it because someone has told you its not beautiful or perfect? Let me just say, I really really hate that. I hate that we give away our power like that.

Obviously I have been there. Still have my days. My mantra when I get there is “I am beautiful exactly how I am”. Say it as many times as I need to. Maybe you will too. I turned 60 this year. You probably know what I’m about to say. Oh yes, here it comes. “How come I look 60”? Oh or 30 or 40 or 50. Right? Sorry to be corny but the song “you are so beautiful to me” just popped into my head. Embrace your gift. Its why you are here.

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page